| User | Sandburg | | Topic | Scams | | Message | Does anyone know if PoetWorks is a scam publisher? After three months I received an acceptance notice that one of my poems would be in their anthology on death. I didn’t expect payment, but I was surprised that they said I could buy a copy at cost.
I’m wondering if this is yet another press that merely sells books to the writers who are included. Anyone know? Thanks.
Dave |
|| Replies ||

| User | Sandburg | 2006-01-06 | | | Subject | Please Read | | Message | Please read the post. It doesn’t cost anything to be published here. They just don’t give the author a comp copy of the book. It only costs something if I want to buy a copy, and I have no idea what cost is. This isn’t Poetry.Com. They don’t accept everyone who submits. Thanks for your concerns though. As for being paid, I guess in a way I’ll get something out of it. The most I’ve ever been paid for a poem is $5 and that meant nothing to me anyway. After this I’ll have my work published in two magazines, two online e-zines, a chapbook and an anthology. I guess that bio is my payment for now. |
| User | littlepoet | 2006-01-04 | | | Subject | untitled | | Message | if truely you are a good poet you otta expect payment publishers don’t do it for free
thier scaming you
there many that send thier work to publishers and get rejected |
| User | littlepoet | 2006-01-03 | | | Subject | untitled | | Message | there are many out their |
| User | alteredlife | 2006-01-02 | | | Subject | untitled | | Message | I have no idea - but any firm that wants your money to publish something sounds like one big scam to me.... an ego-stroker just like poetry.com. Unless it’s for a competition entry fee (but you didn’t say that), then yea, that would be alright. Otherwise I’d stay 500 miles away from it, and then some. |
| | |